EfficientGovNow Award Recipients Named

by | Aug 6, 2009

CLEVELAND–Aug. 6, 2009–After 31 days of voting and strong “get-out-the-vote” campaigns, by the nine finalists, the residents of Northeast Ohio have made their choice and determined the three EfficientGovNow collaboration projects that will receive grants from the Fund for Our Economic Future.


A total of 13,483 qualified votes were cast during July. Individuals could vote for up to three projects, with point values assigned for each first, second and third place vote.


Fund Chairman David Abbott and WKYC (ch. 3) reporter Tom Beres anounced the 3 award recipients live via webcast. The archived video of the broadcast can be seen here. The 3 award recipients are:


1. Rollin’ on the River: Mahoning River Corridor Redevelopment Project 2. Westshore Regional Fire District Project – Cuyahoga and Lorain Counties 3. Mahoning-Youngstown Regional Information System (MYRIS)


The top three will receive a grant for up to the amount requested in their EfficientGovNow application. The grants will be distributed in stages as each of the three projects achieve specific milestones.


“The response to EfficientGovNow by both local governments and the public demonstrates the region’s support for greater government collaboration and efficiency,” said Dave Abbott, chairman of the Fund for Our Economic Future. “The variety of projects and the public’s enthusiasm shows that opportunities for collaboration and efficiency are everywhere. The people of Northeast Ohio want to see these collaborations take place and recognize they can make a difference by coming together and supporting change. They understand that increasing government collaboration and efficiency is important to strengthening our region’s economic competitiveness.”


One of the most encouraging aspects of the EfficientGovNow program has been the way communities, cities and counties rallied to support the various proposals. “We saw fantastic grass roots campaigns to get out the vote by all of the finalists,” said Abbott. “From canvassers at community events to e-mail outreach and social media campaigns, the finalists used their proposals as a unifying force for residents and our region.”


Fund President Brad Whitehead said that while funding can only be provided to three projects at this time, every one of the groups that submitted an EfficientGovNow proposal is an important initiative that should be pursued. “We will reach out to the other finalists to find out how we might be able to help move their projects forward. Kent State University’s Center for Public Administration & Public Policy will be following up with all of the applicants and the Fund will report on their progress to the public,” said Whitehead.


“We hope that through the response to EfficientGovNow, the momentum is in place to further accelerate government collaboration and efficiency efforts throughout the region,” he said. “The public is excited about these initiatives and with increased awareness comes the expectation that more collaborations will take place.” He encourages residents to follow the progress of the EfficientGovNow recipients on the program’s Web site, www.EfficientGovNow.org.


The Fund for Our Economic Future launched EfficientGovNow to bring greater attention to and engage the public on the issue of government collaboration and efficiency, reward efficient government and celebrate the public officials who are collaborating to increase the economic competitiveness of Northeast Ohio.


EfficientGovNow by the Numbers:



    • 65 abstracts submitted (goal of 15)


    • 294 unique governmental entities partnering


    • 14 of 16 counties represented


    • 45 partnerships invited to submit full proposal


    • 39 proposals met full EfficientGovNow criteria


    • 9 finalists selected


    • 13,483 qualified votes accepted



The Fund also engaged partners at colleges and universities across the region to provide guidance and assistance to the governmental entities submitting proposals. Kent State University is serving as the fiscal sponsor for the program. Working on EfficientGovNow are representatives from Kent State University’s Center for Public Administration & Public Policy, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland State University’s Center for Leadership Development, Lorain County Community College Public Service Institute and Oberlin College.


In addition to the qualified votes cast, 2,058 incomplete ballots were submitted and not counted.




The Fund for Our Economic Future is a collaboration of more than 100 foundations, organizations and philanthropists from across Northeast Ohio that strengthens the region’s economic competitiveness through grantmaking, civic engagement and research.


For more information, contact:


Chris ThompsonFund for Our Economic Future216-925-4902 (office)216-215-0329 (cell)cthompson@futurefundneo.org