Our Civic Collaborative

An equitable future is possible for all if we push boundaries, work hard, and work together. Our civic collaborative is the heart—and engine—of the Fund for Our Economic Future. Our members, funders, and staff bring dynamic expertise, leadership, and passion to the table—and together, they make us more diverse in thought, stronger in strategy, and more impactful in action.

our civic collaborative




Our Leadership

The Fund is a member-led organization. Our board includes representatives of funding member institutions and elected civic members, all of whom share equal voting power in all decision-making. Elected officers, standing committee chairs, at-large members, and large funders serve on an Executive Committee, which provides additional oversight.

*Denotes Executive Committee member

Vikki Broer,* Chair
Weathertop Foundation

William Gary,* Chair Emeritus**

Phoebe Lee,* First Vice Chair
Acumen Industries

Christine Mayer,* Second Vice Chair, Member Engagement and Development Co-Chair
GAR Foundation

Cathy Belk,* Secretary
Deaconess Foundation

Alison Hawkinson,* Treasurer
Community Foundation of Lorain County

Adam Briggs,* Member Engagement and Development Co-Chair
Briggs Family Fund

Ricardo León,* Evaluation Chair
Cuyahoga Land Bank

Cindy Andrews,* Nominating and Personnel Chair
Community Foundation of Lorain County

Marcus Madison,* At Large
Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Treye Johnson,* $1 Million+ Member
The George Gund Foundation

Mark Samolczyk,* Strategy Chair
Stark Community Foundation

Marcia Ballinger
Lorain County Community College

Angela D’Orazio
Sisters of Charity Foundation of Cleveland

David Ford
Abington Foundation

Meredith Gadsby
Oberlin College

Jani Groza
Westfield Insurance Foundation

Daniel Hampu
Burton D. Morgan Foundation

Trevelle Harp
Neighborhood Leadership Institute

Paul Herdeg
Cuyahoga County

Karen Hooser
Reinberger Foundation

Sharon Sobol Jordan
Bruening Foundation

India Pierce Lee
Cuyahoga Community College

Jim Petras
Early Stage Partners

John T. Petures, Jr.
Akron Community Foundation


Jennifer Roller
The Raymond John Wean Foundation

Victor Ruiz
Esperanza, Inc.

Bill Seelbach
The George W. Codrington Charitable Foundation

Baiju Shah
Greater Cleveland Partnership

Emily Thome
Third Federal Foundation

Deryck Toles
Inspiring Minds Youth Academy

Peter Whitt
Saint Luke’s Foundation

Nick Turner
Nord Family Foundation

Marty Uhle
Community West Foundation

*Executive Committee

Our Funders

Our work is supported by funding members who contribute a minimum of $100,000 over three years. This unrestricted support gives us the space and flexibility to try new things and iterate as needed. We’re also grateful for the contributors and donors who give at smaller levels and additional funding partners who support specific aspects of our agenda.

Interested in learning more about the benefits of being a funding member? Please contact us!

Funding Members

Supporting Funders

Contributors and Donors

Our Team

The day-to-day work of executing our strategy is led by a core staff of experienced and emerging leaders with specialized expertise, with the added support of a diverse team of talented consulting partners and contract support.

Our Staff

Bethia Burke


Bishara Addison

Director of Workforce Innovation

Joan Chase

Senior Director of Strategic Initiatives

Angelica Dandridge

Director of Board Engagement and Development

Reanna Karousis

Director, Operations

Orlando Grant

Director, Recompete Project—Cleveland

Jeffrey Weston Sleasman

Director of Applied Research

George D. Williams II

Economic Recovery Corps Fellow

Consulting Partners & Contractors